In a dramatic sequence of events, New Zealand‘s Ish Sodhi was called back by Bangladesh after being run out pre-delivery at the non-striker’s end by bowler Hasan Mahmud, during the second ODI between the two teams.
Sodhi, at No.8, was the last wicket to fall in the final over of New Zealand’s total of 254, earning another life after a legitimate dismissal in the 46th over itself. Off the fourth ball of the over, bowler Mahmud caught Sodhi wandering out of his crease while in his delivery stride, and proceeded to halt and flick the bails off. The bowler appealed to umpire Marais Erasmus, and was instantly rewarded with a wicket.
WOW HASAN MAHMUD WOW!!
— Saif Ahmed (@saifahmed75) September 23, 2023
However, skipper Litton Das decided to intervene, chatting first with the umpires and then calling back Sodhi along with Mahmud. Delighted, Sodhi was seen hugging the 23-year-old bowler, and proceeded to add 17 more runs, helping New Zealand cross 250.
— Muhammad Farhan Ali (@imrealfarhanali) September 23, 2023
Despite earning notoriety for breaching the so-called Spirit of Cricket, the dismissal remains legitimate, and was moved from the “unfair play” section to the “run out” section, doing away with the term “Mankading”, which was widely used to describe the method of dismissal.
Earlier this year, India captain Rohit Sharma did something similar against Sri Lanka, retracting their appeal against Dasun Shanaka, on 98, who was run out by bowler Mohammed Shami pre-delivery. Shanaka went on to complete his century, although India comfortably won the game.
Mahmud finished with figures of 1-46, with Khaled Ahmed, on ODI debut, picking up three wickets, as did Mehedi Hasan.
The first ODI, also held at the Shere-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, was abandoned after persistent rain.
Follow the live score of the second ODI here.
The post Watch: Ish Sodhi gets called back by Bangladesh after pre-delivery run out, hugs bowler upon return appeared first on Wisden.